Responsibility

December 4, 2020

Terri Anne thinks outside the (Shoe)box

Smiling woman seated near windows with closed blinds
Share on Facebook.Share on TwitterShare on LinkedIn.Share through email.

Terri Anne Gibson, Pharmacist at a Shoppers Drug Mart® location in Chilliwack, B.C., has always had a passion to help others. But The Shoebox Project for Women, which collects and distributes gift-filled boxes to women in shelters across Canada, means so much to her — for different, more personal reasons.

“I had a colleague ask me a little while ago why I chose to become a volunteer with The Shoebox Project,” Terri Anne recalls. “This colleague only knows me as my current self: a mother, a pharmacist, a wife, a friend. They told me, very innocently so, that they just didn't see how someone ’like me’ could put myself inside the shoes of a woman affected by homelessness.

“Without intending to, they just hit the nail on the head about what is so pervasive about domestic violence against women,” says Terri Anne. “They have no idea that my early life was touched by it, or that it played a significant role in shaping the type of woman and healthcare provider I am today.”

According to Statistics Canada, half of all women in Canada have experienced at least one incident of physical or sexual violence since the age of 16¹. It could be anyone — even someone you might never expect.

Terri Anne’s personal connection to The Shoebox Project is part of her mission: to help others understand the many different reasons why women access emergency shelters. With The Shoebox Project, she helps support over 30 local shelters and has transformed her passion for a cause into action.

“I think about my mother,” says Terri Anne. “I think about my two-year-old son, for whom I want nothing more than to set the best possible example I can, to be the best possible role model I can.” She adds:

“At this point in my life, I have the resources, skills and abilities to give back and help others in a significant way. That's what it all comes back to for me.”

Normally, at this time of year, Terri Anne and other volunteers would be gathering, sorting, and assembling shoeboxes (and we would be celebrating them on December 5th, International Volunteer Day). But 2020 is anything but typical — though volunteerism performed by anyone and everyone should always be recognized.

But even though we can’t gather, we can still help. Like Terri Anne, Shoppers Drug Mart stores are passionate supporters of The Shoebox Project for Women, and this year, they have gone virtual with their support. Rather than collect physical items, stores are collecting donations (using debit/credit or PC OptimumTM points) until January 1st through the LOVE YOU by Shoppers Drug MartTM program. The program will also match all donations up to a maximum of $50,000.

In a virtual world, you can still volunteer by being an advocate. Get social; spread the word about The Shoebox Project — like this video Terri Anne created for The Shoebox Project, What Is Her Reason?. It digs into the many reasons women access emergency shelters and the reasons we choose to support and give back to women in need.

Terri Anne believes that together, we can help bring smiles to the faces of Canadian women impacted by homelessness. “It can help show them that they’re not alone.”

¹ The Violence Against Women Survey, Statistics Canada, 1993. http://www23.statcan.gc.ca/imdb/p2SV.pFunction=getSurvey&SDDS=3896&Item_Id=1712

Responsabilité

4 décembre 2020

Terri Anne sort des sentiers battus

 Femme souriante assise près des fenêtres avec stores fermés
TBDTBDTBDTBD

Terri Anne Gibson, pharmacienne dans un magasin Shoppers Drug MartMD situé à Chilliwack  en Colombie-Britannique), a toujours eu la passion d’aider les autres. Mais l’Opération Boîtes à chaussures pour les femmes, qui recueille et distribue des boîtes-cadeaux aux femmes des refuges partout au Canada, la touche particulièrement.

« Il n’y a pas si longtemps, un collègue m’a demandé pourquoi je faisais du bénévolat pour l’Opération Boîtes à chaussures », se souvient Terri Anne. « Il connaît uniquement mon présent : une mère, une pharmacienne, une femme, une amie. Ce collègue m’a expliqué ne pas comprendre comment une personne « comme moi » pouvait me mettre à la place des femmes touchées par l’itinérance. »

« Sans en avoir l’intention, il a mis le doigt sur le problème omniprésent de la violence conjugale envers les femmes », souligne Terri Anne. « Il ne connaît rien de mon passé et ignore que j’ai souffert de violence conjugale et que cette expérience m’a fait devenir la femme et la professionnelle de la santé que je suis aujourd’hui. »

Selon Statistique Canada, la moitié des femmes au Canada ont subi au moins un incident de violence physique ou sexuelle depuis l'âge de 16 ans. Il peut s'agir de n'importe qui, même d'une personne à laquelle vous ne vous attendiez pas.

Le lien personnel entre Terri Anne et l’Opération Boîtes à chaussures fait partie de sa mission : aider les autres à comprendre les nombreuses raisons pour lesquelles les femmes font appel aux refuges d’urgence. Dans le cadre de l’Opération Boîtes à chaussures, Terri Anne aide plus de 30 refuges locaux et transforme sa passion pour une cause en action.

« Je pense à ma mère », déclare Terri Anne. « Je pense à mon fils de deux ans, à qui je veux donner le meilleur exemple possible et pour qui je veux être le meilleur rôle modèle possible. » Elle ajoute,

« À ce stade de ma vie, j’ai les ressources, les compétences et les aptitudes nécessaires pour redonner et aider les autres de façon significative. C’est ce qui compte pour moi ».

Normalement, à ce moment de l’année, Terri Anne et d’autres bénévoles se rassemblent pour trier et créer des boîtes à chaussures (et nous célébrons avec eux la Journée internationale des bénévoles, le 5 décembre). Mais 2020 est tout sauf normal. Même sans rassemblement, le bénévolat devrait toujours être souligné.

Et malgré l’interdiction de nous rassembler, nous pouvons aider. Tout comme Terri Anne, les magasins Shoppers Drug Mart/Pharmaprix soutiennent avec passion l’Opération Boîtes à chaussures et, cette année, la contribution se fait virtuellement. Plutôt que de recueillir des articles physiques, les magasins recueillent des dons (par cartes de débit et de crédit ou par points PC OptimumMC) jusqu’au 1er janvier dans le cadre du programme AIMEZ VOUS de Shoppers Drug MartMC/PharmaprixMC. Ce programme donnera l’équivalent de tous les dons jusqu’à concurrence de 50 000 $.

Dans un monde virtuel, le bénévolat passe aussi par la promotion d’une cause. Donc utilisez les médias sociaux! Commentez sur le site de l’Opération Boîtes à chaussures et aimez cette vidéo créée par Terri Anne pour l’Opération Boîtes à chaussures : What is Her Reason? (Quelle est sa motivation?). Elle présente plusieurs raisons pour lesquelles les femmes nécessitent l’aide des refuges d’urgence et explique pourquoi nous choisissons de soutenir les femmes dans le besoin.

Terri Anne croit qu’ensemble, nous pouvons aider à faire sourire les Canadiennes touchées par l’itinérance. « Nous pouvons leur montrer qu’elles ne sont pas seules ».