Health and wellness

March 18, 2021

Pharmacists say COVID vaccinations are going smoothly

Pharmacist administering vaccine to older person
Share on Facebook.Share on TwitterShare on LinkedIn.Share through email.

Canadians are beginning to see the light at the end of this year-long pandemic tunnel. And Shivali Sharma and Brian Jones, both pharmacist/owners of Shoppers Drug Mart® stores in Alberta — the first province to allow pharmacies to administer the vaccine — want to assure everyone that the COVID vaccine has been approved by Health Canada and is safe.

"The COVID-19 vaccines that have been approved by Health Canada have been subject to the same rigorous testing and approval process as any other approved vaccine used in our country," says Shivali, whose store is in Edmonton. "There was an urgency for the world to get something in order, so that's why things happened faster than they typically would."

Brian concurs.

"There's always some hesitancy about being the first to do anything, but by no means are we the first," he says. "Other countries around the world have been vaccinating for a lot longer. The majority of people I've spoken to, their side effects have been minimal."

Side effects vary, from no reaction to localized reactions such as minor soreness in their arm or at the injection site, while others can experience a low-grade fever, chills, fatigue, muscle or headache. But that's not a bad thing, insists Shivali.

"Those are actually signs of your immune system activating and responding to the vaccine," she says. "Typically, those side effects — which tend to be very mild to moderate — resolve within two to five days. And they're not different from what you would see from any other vaccination."

By educating yourself about the vaccine, you'll be well-informed to make your decision when it becomes available to you. Vaccines are provided to the provinces by Health Canada, and each province is responsible for its own vaccine program. Their focus is on those most at risk of having serious complications from COVID-19, typically the older members of our society. But as soon as your Public Health unit or province makes the vaccine available, you can make an appointment.

"It has to be appointment-based because we have to make sure we are matching the appointments to the amount of vaccine we have in our fridge," explains Shivali. "We can't overbook, we can't under-book, we can't afford a no-show, we can't afford a cancellation."

And that's something both the stores and their communities can appreciate.

"The people that came in the first day we did vaccinations were so thankful their community pharmacy is doing this," says Brian, of his Calgary store.

"Many of these seniors (Alberta pharmacies began with the 75 and older group) have been isolating for a year. They've not gone anywhere, they only see their families on devices or through windows when their groceries are being dropped off, so it's a huge relief for them to return to some semblance of normal."

Shivali agrees.

"Once we have enough of the population immunized, only then can we start to consider easing Public Health measures and return to some sense of normalcy in our day-to-day lives," says Shivali.

"Everyone must still continue to follow Public Health measures after getting immunized. We cannot ease restrictions until we have more data, which is reliant on vaccinating a large majority of the population. Receiving your COVID vaccination is crucial to further slowing the spread of the virus and hopefully getting this pandemic under control." 

For more information, please visit the Shoppers Drug Mart COVID page on vaccines and testing.

Have questions?

Santé et bien-être

18 mars 2021

Selon les pharmaciens, la vaccination contre la COVID se déroule bien

Pharmacist administering vaccine to older person
TBDTBDTBDTBD

Les Canadiens commencent à voir la lumière au bout du long tunnel de la pandémie. Shivali Sharma et Brian Jones, tous deux pharmaciens propriétaires de magasins Shoppers Drug MartMD de l’Alberta (la première province à permettre la vaccination contre la COVID en pharmacie), veulent assurer le public que le vaccin contre la COVID a été approuvé par Santé Canada et qu’il est sans danger. 

« Les vaccins contre la COVID-19 approuvés par Santé Canada font l’objet des mêmes tests rigoureux et du même processus d’approbation que tous les autres vaccins donnés dans notre pays », explique Shivali, dont le magasin est à Edmonton. « Le monde devait faire quelque chose, et vite. C’est pourquoi tout s’est déroulé plus rapidement que d’habitude», ajoute Brian.

« Il y a toujours une certaine hésitation à être les premiers à se lancer dans une initiative, mais nous sommes loin d’être les premiers dans ce cas », affirme-t-il. « D’autres pays vaccinent depuis bien plus longtemps que nous. La majorité des personnes à qui j’ai parlé ont connu des effets secondaires minimes. »

Les effets secondaires varient, de l’absence de réaction à une légère douleur dans le bras ou au point d’injection. D’autres personnes peuvent présenter une fièvre de faible intensité, des frissons, de la fatigue, des muscles endoloris ou des maux de tête. Mais ce n’est pas une mauvaise chose, insiste Shivali.

« En fait, ce sont des signes que votre système immunitaire est actif et répond au vaccin », souligne-t-elle. « Généralement, ces effets secondaires, qui ont tendance à être très légers ou modérés, disparaissent en deux à cinq jours. Et ils ne sont pas différents de ceux des autres vaccins. »

En vous renseignant sur le vaccin, vous serez bien informé pour prendre une décision lorsqu'il sera disponible pour vous. Les vaccins sont fournis aux différentes provinces par Santé Canada, et chacune est responsable du déploiement du programme de vaccination. Elles priorisent les personnes les plus à risque de présenter des complications graves de la COVID-19, généralement les membres plus âgés de notre société. Dès que votre bureau de santé publique ou votre province met le vaccin à votre disposition, vous pourrez prendre rendez-vous. 

« Les patients doivent prendre rendez-vous. Ainsi, nous aurons le bon nombre de vaccins dans nos réfrigérateurs », explique Shivali. « Il ne peut pas y avoir trop ou trop peu de rendez-vous, des absences, ni des annulations. »

Voilà une problématique qui touche les deux magasins et leur communauté.

« Les patients qui ont été vaccinés la première journée étaient si reconnaissants du bon travail de leur pharmacie communautaire », se souvient Brian.

« Plusieurs personnes âgées (les pharmacies de l’Alberta ont d’abord vacciné les personnes de 75 ans et plus et peuvent maintenant vacciner les personnes de 65 ans et plus) sont isolées depuis un an. Elles ont seulement vu leur famille à travers un écran ou une fenêtre, lors de la livraison de l’épicerie. C’est donc un grand soulagement de revenir à la normale. »

Shivali est d’accord. « Lorsqu’une grande partie de la population sera immunisée, nous pourrons assouplir les mesures sanitaires et retrouver un sentiment de normalité dans nos vies quotidiennes ».

« Même après avoir reçu le vaccin, vous devez suivre les mesures de la Santé publique. Mais plus nous vaccinons, plus le nombre de personnes immunisées augmente. Nous pouvons donc recueillir plus de données et mieux ralentir la propagation du virus. Cela nous permettra de réellement maîtriser la pandémie. »

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez visiter la page COVID de Shoppers Drug Mart/Pharmaprix sur les vaccins et les tests. 

Vous avez des questions?