Forward-looking information and statements

This website contains forward-looking information and statements which constitute “forward-looking information” under Canadian securities law and which may be material, regarding, among other things, the Company’s beliefs, plans, objectives, estimates, intentions and expectations.  Forward-looking information and statements are typically identified by words such as “anticipate”, “believe”, "forsee", “expect”, “estimate”, “forecast”, “goal”, “intend”, “plan”, "seek", "strive", “will”, “may”, “should”, “could” and similar expressions.  Specific forward-looking information in this website includes, but is not limited to, statements with respect to the Company’s future liquidity and the ability to execute on its future operating, investing and financing strategies.

This website also contains forward-looking information and statements concerning the expected completion date of the acquisition of the Company by Loblaw (the "Acquisition").  There can be no assurance that the Acquisition will occur or that the anticipated strategic benefits and operational, competitive and cost synergies will be realized.  The Acquisition is subject to various regulatory approvals, including approvals under the Competition Act (Canada) and by the Toronto Stock Exchange, and the fulfillment of certain conditions, and there can be no assurance that any such approvals will be obtained and/or any such conditions will be met.  The Acquisition could be modified, restructured or terminated.

The forward-looking information and statements contained herein reflect the Company’s current estimates, beliefs and assumptions, which are based on management’s perception of historical trends, current conditions and expected future developments, as well as other factors it believes are appropriate in the circumstances, including but not limited to, assumptions regarding: revenue growth and operating efficiencies; the absence of an adverse event or condition that damages the Company’s strong brand position and reputation; the absence of a material increase in competition; there being no significant change in the Company’s ability to comply with current or future regulatory requirements; and generally stable economic and financial conditions in Canada and globally.  Inherent in the forward-looking information and statements are known and unknown risks, uncertainties and other factors beyond the Company’s ability to control or predict, which give rise to the possibility that the Company’s predictions, forecasts, expectations or conclusions will not prove to be accurate, that its assumptions may not be correct and that the Company’s plans, objectives and statements will not be achieved.  Actual results or developments may differ materially from those contemplated by the forward-looking information and statements.

The material risk factors that could cause actual results to differ materially from the estimates, beliefs and assumptions expressed or implied in the forward-looking information and statements contained herein include, without limitation:  the risk of adverse changes to laws and regulations relating to prescription drugs and their sale, including pharmacy reimbursement programs, prescription drug pricing and the availability of manufacturer allowances, or changes to such laws and regulations that increase compliance costs; the risk that the Company will be unable to implement successful strategies to manage the impact of the drug system reform initiatives implemented or proposed in most provincial jurisdictions; the risk of adverse changes in economic and financial conditions in Canada and globally; the risk of increased competition from other retailers or non-traditional retail channels for distribution of prescription drugs; the risk of an inability of the Company to manage growth and maintain its profitability; the risk of exposure to fluctuations in interest rates; the risk of material adverse changes in foreign currency exchange rates; the risk of an inability to attract and retain pharmacists and key employees or effectively manage succession planning; the risk of an inability of the Company’s information technology systems to support the requirements of the Company’s business; the risk of changes to estimated contributions of the Company in respect of its pension plans or post-employment benefit plans which may adversely impact the Company’s financial performance; the risk of changes to the relationships of the Company with third-party service providers; the risk that the Company will not be able to lease or obtain suitable store locations on economically favourable terms; the risk of adverse changes to the Company’s results of operations due to seasonal fluctuations; the risk of an inability of the Company to respond to changing consumer preferences that may result in excess inventory, inventory levels that are insufficient to meet demand or inventory obsolescence; risks associated with alternative arrangements for sourcing generic drug products, including intellectual property and product liability risks; the risk that new, or changes to current, federal and provincial laws, rules and regulations, including environmental and privacy laws, rules and regulations, may adversely impact the Company’s business and operations; the risk that violations of law, breaches of Company policies or unethical behaviour may adversely impact the Company’s financial performance; property and casualty risks; the risk of injuries at the workplace or health issues; the risk that changes in tax law, or changes in the way that tax law is expected to be interpreted, may adversely impact the Company’s business and operations; the risk that new, or changes to existing, accounting pronouncements may adversely impact the Company; the risks associated with the performance of the Associate-owned store network; the risk of material adverse effects arising as a result of litigation; the risk of damage to the reputation of brands promoted by the Company, or to the reputation of any supplier or manufacturer of these brands; product quality and product safety risks which could expose the Company to product liability claims and negative publicity; the risk that events or a series of events may cause business interruptions; and the risk of disruptions to the Company’s distribution operations or supply chain which could affect the cost, timely delivery and availability of merchandise.


This is not an exhaustive list of the factors that may affect any of the Company’s forward-looking information and statements.  Investors and others should carefully consider these and other risk factors and not place undue reliance on the forward-looking information and statements.  Further information regarding these and other factors is included in the Company’s public filings with provincial securities regulatory authorities including, without limitation, the sections entitled “Risks and Risk Management” and “Risks Associated with Financial Instruments” in the Company’s Management’s Discussion and Analysis for the 52 week period ended December 29, 2012, for the 12 week period ended March 23, 2013, for the 12 and 24 week periods ended June 15, 2013 and for the 16 and 40 week periods ended October 5, 2013, and the section entitled "Risks Relating to the Arrangement and the Combined Company" in the Management Proxy Circular dated August 12, 2013 for the special meeting of Company shareholders that approved the Arrangement.  The forward-looking information and statements contained in this website represent the Company’s views at the time the documents were prepared.  While the Company anticipates that subsequent events and developments may cause the Company’s views to change, the Company does not undertake to update any forward-looking information and statements, except to the extent required by applicable securities laws.

Additional information about the Company, including the Annual Information Form, can be found at www.sedar.com.

Last updated February 6, 2014

Information prospective

Déclarations de nature prévisionnelle

Le présent communiqué renferme de l’information et des déclarations prospectives qui constituent de l’« information prospective » en vertu de la loi canadienne sur les valeurs mobilières et qui peuvent être significatives à l’égard, notamment, des opinions, des projets, des objectifs, des stratégies, des estimations, des intentions et des attentes de la Société. L’information et les déclarations prospectives se reconnaissent habituellement à l’emploi de termes comme « prévoir », « croire », « entrevoir », « s’attendre à », « estimer », « projeter », « viser », « avoir l’intention de », « envisager », « chercher à », « s’efforcer à » et d’autres expressions de même nature, ainsi qu’à l’emploi du futur ou du conditionnel. L’information prospective explicitement exprimée dans le présent document comprend, sans toutefois s’y limiter, des déclarations qui ont trait à la situation de trésorerie future de la Société et à sa capacité à mettre en œuvre ses stratégies futures en matière d’exploitation, d’investissement et de financement.

Le présent communiqué renferme également de l’information et des déclarations prospectives relatives à la date de conclusion prévue de l’acquisition de la société par Loblaw (l'«Acquisition»). Il n'existe aucune garantie que l’acquisition sera conclue ni que les avantages stratégiques ou que les synergies opérationnelles, concurrentielles et de coûts seront réalisés. L’acquisition est sujette à diverses approbations réglementaires, notamment celles requises en vertu de la Loi sur la concurrence (Canada) et de la Bourse de Toronto, de même qu’au respect de certaines conditions, et rien ne garantit que ces approbations seront obtenues ni que ces conditions seront respectées. De plus, l’acquisition pourrait être modifiée, restructurée ou résiliée.

Les informations et les déclarations prospectives contenues dans les présentes reflètent les estimations, opinions et hypothèses actuelles de la société, lesquelles se fondent sur la perception qu’a la direction des tendances historiques, de la situation actuelle et des événements futurs prévus, ainsi que sur d’autres facteurs qui, de l’avis de la direction, sont appropriés dans les circonstances, y compris mais sans s’y limiter, les hypothèses notamment en ce qui a trait aux éléments suivants, soit la croissance du revenu et l’efficacité de l’exploitation, l’absence d’événements ou de conditions défavorables pouvant nuire au positionnement et à la réputation solides de la marque de la société; l’absence d’une augmentation importante de la concurrence; l’absence de changement notable dans la capacité de la société à se conformer aux exigences réglementaires actuelles ou futures; la conjoncture financière et économique généralement stable au Canada et à l’échelle mondiale. Des risques, des incertitudes et d’autres facteurs connus et inconnus sur lesquels la société ne peut exercer de contrôle ni ne peut prévoir sont inhérents aux informations et déclarations prospectives. Ces risques, incertitudes et autres facteurs peuvent faire en sorte que les prévisions, projections, hypothèses ou conclusions de la société se révèlent inexactes, ou que ses plans, objectifs ou déclarations ne se réalisent pas. Les résultats réels ou les faits nouveaux peuvent différer de façon importante de ceux envisagés par les informations et déclarations prospectives.

Les principaux facteurs de risque susceptibles de causer des écarts importants entre les estimations, opinions et hypothèses exprimées ou implicites dans l’information et les déclarations prospectives contenues dans les présentes incluent, sans s'y limiter, le risque de changements défavorables aux lois et règlements en ce qui a trait aux médicaments d'ordonnance et à leur vente, notamment aux programmes de remboursement aux pharmacies, au prix des médicaments d’ordonnance et à l'accès aux remises par les fabricants, ou les changements à ces lois et règlements qui entraîneraient une hausse des coûts pour se conformer à ceux-ci; le risque que la société soit incapable de mettre en œuvre de bonnes stratégies pour gérer les répercussions des initiatives proposées ou mises en place relativement à la réforme du régime de médicaments dans la majorité des provinces; le risque de changements défavorables quant à la situation financière et économique au Canada et à l'échelle mondiale; le risque de concurrence accrue des autres détaillants ou réseaux de détail non traditionnels pour la distribution des médicaments d’ordonnance; le risque que la société soit incapable de gérer sa croissance et de maintenir sa rentabilité; le risque lié à la fluctuation des taux d'intérêt; le risque de variations défavorables importantes des taux de change; le risque lié à l'incapacité d'attirer et de retenir des pharmaciens et des employés clés ou de gérer efficacement la planification de la relève; le risque que les systèmes de technologie de l'information de la société ne soient pas adaptés aux besoins des activités de la société; le risque lié à la variation des contributions estimatives de la société en ce qui a trait aux régimes de retraite et aux régimes d'avantages complémentaires de retraite, qui pourrait avoir une incidence défavorable sur le rendement financier de la société; le risque lié à des changements dans les relations entre la société et les tiers fournisseurs de services; le risque que la société ne réussisse pas à louer ni à trouver des emplacements appropriés pour ses établissements à des conditions financières favorables; le risque de changements défavorables dans les résultats d'exploitation de la société en raison de fluctuations saisonnières; le risque lié à l'incapacité de la société de répondre aux préférences changeantes des consommateurs qui peuvent donner lieu à des stocks excédentaires, à des niveaux de stocks insuffisants pour répondre à la demande ou à une désuétude des stocks; les risques liés aux autres arrangements pour la sélection de fournisseurs de produits génériques, y compris les risques liés à la responsabilité du fait des produits et à la propriété intellectuelle; le risque lié aux modifications ou à la création de lois, règles et règlements fédéraux et provinciaux, notamment les lois, règles et règlements ayant trait à l'environnement et à la protection de la vie privée, qui pourraient avoir des conséquences négatives importantes sur les activités et l'exploitation de la société; le risque que la violation d'une loi, que le non-respect des politiques de la société ou qu'un comportement non conforme à l'éthique ait une incidence négative sur le rendement financier de la société; les risques liés aux biens et risques divers; le risque d'accident sur les lieux de travail ou de problèmes de santé; le risque que des modifications apportées aux lois fiscales ou à l'interprétation éventuelle de celles-ci aient des répercussions défavorables sur les activités et l'exploitation de la société; le risque que la création ou la modification de prises de position comptables ait un effet négatif sur la société; les risques liés au rendement du réseau d'établissements des pharmaciens-propriétaires; le risque lié aux effets négatifs importants à la suite d'un litige; le risque que la réputation des marques privilégiées par la société, de leurs fournisseurs ou de leurs fabricants soit ternie; les risques liés à la qualité et à la sécurité des produits pouvant exposer la société à d'éventuelles plaintes en responsabilité de produits et à une mauvaise publicité; le risque que des événements ou une série d'événements entraînent des interruptions dans les activités et le risque de perturbations dans les activités de distribution ou de la chaîne d'approvisionnement de la société qui pourraient avoir un impact sur le coût, la livraison en temps opportun et la disponibilité de la marchandise.

Cette énumération n’est pas exhaustive et ne présente pas tous les facteurs qui peuvent avoir une incidence sur les informations et déclarations prospectives de la société. Tout investisseur ou toute autre personne intéressée doit évaluer attentivement ces facteurs ainsi que d’autres facteurs et éviter de se fier indûment à ces informations et déclarations prospectives. Des renseignements supplémentaires à l'égard de ces facteurs ainsi que d'autres facteurs de risque figurent dans les documents publics de la société déposés auprès des autorités provinciales en valeurs mobilières, comprenant, sans s'y limiter, la section «Risques et gestion du risque» et «Risques liés aux instruments financiers» dans le rapport de gestion annuel de la société pour la période de 52 semaines qui s'est terminée le 29 décembre 2012, pour la période de 12 semaines qui s'est terminée le 23 mars 2013, pour les périodes de 12 et 24 semaines qui se sont terminées le 15 juin 2013 et pour les périodes de 16 et 40 semaines qui se sont terminées le 5 octobre 2013, et la section intitulée «Risques liés à l’arrangement et à l’entreprise combinée» dans la circulaire de la direction sollicitant des procurations datée du 12 août 2013 pour l’assemblée générale extraordinaire des actionnaires de la société qui ont approuvé l’arrangement.. Les informations et déclarations prospectives contenues dans le présent communiqué traduisent uniquement les points de vue de la société en date des présentes. Bien que la société s’attende à ce que des événements et faits nouveaux ultérieurs puissent donner lieu à des changements de position, la société ne s’engage pas à mettre à jour les informations et déclarations prospectives, sauf si les lois sur les valeurs mobilières applicables l’exigent.

Des renseignements supplémentaires sur la société, y compris la notice annuelle, sont disponibles à  www.sedar.com.

Dernière mise à jour : le 6 fevrier 2014